The Use of Talking

There is no end of things in the heart.

What Is the Use of Talking?

leave a comment »

The name of this blog comes from Ezra Pound’s “Exile’s Letter,” a translation/adaptation of a poem by Li Po (or Rihaku, in the Japanese form that Pound uses). The relevant lines are:

What is the use of talking, and there is no end of talking,

There is no end of things in the heart.

I first read the poem in the eighth grade (we had a very unusual, and alcoholic, English teacher who never returned from the Easter break); I’m afraid to say how many years ago. Those lines seem particularly apropos today when I’m in a liminal space, trying to figure out who and what I am and who and what I’d like to be—sort of a hyper-delayed rerun of an adolescent crisis.

So I intend to use this space to write honestly about what’s in my heart and mind. I’m writing, as the Russians used to say in Soviet days, “for the drawer,” to say what I need to say with the expectation that few, if any, will read it.

What is the use of talking? None, perhaps, except to unburden the talker. And that’s enough.

Written by hans castorp

November 30, 2011 at 12:40 am

Posted in Introduction

Leave a Reply

