The Use of Talking

There is no end of things in the heart.

As I Was(n’t) Saying . . .

leave a comment »

One of the reasons (and there are more than a few) why I’m such a sporadic blogger is my inability to remember all the brilliant insights that come to me in subway stations or strolls down the street. I’d really like to write about that, I think, and I continue on convinced that at last I’ve found something worthwhile to say. As soon as I get home I’m going to open the laptop and get it down in pixels.

But by the time I get home, reality intervenes. The open computer is too seductive, beckoning me to take a long and exhausting sprint from blog to blog and message board to message board. Too tired to do anything, I promise myself to get to it first thing in the morning, but by the time morning comes, I’ve forgotten about it entirely.

I had a thought in the subway station last night on the way home from mass. I know it was something about faith; it struck me as a good way to get to some of the issues that have preoccupied me lately. If it comes back to me, I’ll let you know.

Written by hans castorp

August 16, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

